The Year of the Periodic Table of Elements launched in Paris

The UN General Assembly has declared 2019 the International Year of the Periodic Table of Elements to celebrate the 150 year anniversary of the discovery of the periodic table of chemical elements by Russian scientist Dmitriy I. Mendeleevv.

Over 1300 attendees from 80 countries have taken part in the opening ceremony at the UNESCO headquarters - politicians, scientists, heads of international organizations, representatives of commercial and non-governmental organizations. Minister of Education and Higher Education of Russia Mikhail Kotyukov, President of the Russian Academy of Sciences Alexander Sergeyev, President of the French Academy of Sciences Pierre Corvol, Director-General of UNESCO Audrey Azoulay took part in the official opening function.

Participants and guests had opportunity to see speeches by internationally renowned scientists. Professor Oganesyan (head of research at the Laboratoy of Nuclear Reactions named after G.N. Flerov) read a lecture on new elements of the Periodic table. The 118th element of the table has been named «oganeson» after the professor. Vice president of the Royal Society, author of the «The Periodic Table of Videos» Martyn Poliakoff delivered a lecture entitled «Mebdeleev – order for education». In his lecture Prof. Poliakoff emphasized the role of the Periodic table in popularizing science and education.

In Russia an opening ceremoney will be held on February 6 in Moscow. Its date will coincide with the Russian Science Day and the birthday of Dmitry I. Mendeleev.

The International Year of the Periodic Table wull feature more than 500 scientific and educational events to honor the 150th anniversary of birth of Dmitry Mendeleev. The events will be aimed at attracting attention of school and university students and youth in general to science and its achievements.

Source: href="www.iypt2019.ru

В Париже открыли Международного года Периодической таблицы химических элементов

В штаб-квартире ЮНЕСКО в Париже состоялось открытие Международного года Периодической таблицы химических элементов.
Генеральная ассамблея ООН провозгласила 2019 год Международным годом Периодической таблицы химических элементов в честь 150-летия открытия Периодического закона химических элементов великим русским ученым Д.И. Менделеевым.

Открытие в штаб-квартире ЮНЕСКО посетило более 1300 человек из 80 стран мира. Политики, учёные, руководители международных организаций, представители бизнеса и общественных организаций. В торжественной церемонии приняли участие: Министр науки и высшего образования РФ Михаил Котюков, Президент Российской академии наук Александр Сергеев, Президент Академии наук Франции Пьер Корволь, генеральный директор ЮНЕСКО Одри Азуле.

Участники и гости получили возможность увидеть выступления всемирно известных учёных. Профессор Оганесян (научный руководитель Лаборатории ядерных реакций имени Г.Н. Флерова) выступил с лекцией о новых элементах Периодической таблицы. В честь Юрия Цолаковича назван 118-й элемент Таблицы – «оганесон». Вице-президент Лондонского королевского общества, автор серии «Видео о периодической таблице», сэр Мартин Полякофф в своей лекции на тему «Менделеев – подарок для образования» отметил роль Периодической таблицы в популяризации науки и образования.

В России церемония открытия состоится 6 февраля 2019 года в Москве. Она будет приурочена ко Дню российской науки и одновременно Дню рождения Д.И. Менделеева.
Международный год Периодической таблицы химических элементов принесет в регионы России более 500 научно-популярных и образовательных мероприятий, посвященных 150-летию выдающегося открытия Д.И. Менделеева и направленных на привлечение внимания школьников, студентов и молодежи в целом к науке и ее достижениям.

Источник: href="www.iypt2019.ru